2013 Youth Media Awards

This may seem like a departure from the “technology” skew of this blog, but keep in mind: books are a form of technology, too!

Today was a big day in the world of librarians: the Youth Media Awards! This is the day that the winners of the Caldecott and Newbery Awards are announced.

This year’s Caldecott winner:

This Is Not My Hat by Jon Klassen

Showcasing Klassen’s dark humor, This Is Not My Hat follows a little fish who thinks he’s gotten away with the perfect crime… but the incredible illustrations tell the reader that this is not the case. Check out the book trailer:

The Newbery winner this year is:

The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate

This beautiful and moving book is the story of Ivan, a silverback gorilla who is the resident attraction at a rundown mall. Author Gary D. Schmidt put it best when he said: “The One and Only Ivan will break your heart– and then, against all odds, mend it again.” Here’s the book trailer:

Congrats to both winners– I am such a fan of these wonderful books!

For a complete list of Youth Media Award winners, including Newbery and Caldecott Honor books, as well as Coretta Scott King, Siebert, and Geisel Awards, go here.

And, just for fun: my very own Caldecott (AKA Callie) and (Ninian) Newbery:

Callie and Ninian


One thought on “2013 Youth Media Awards

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s